• Home
  • BYU Family History Library Hours
Follow us on Facebook. See our Youtube Channel. Follow us on Twitter.

Chat with us!

Chat requires JavaScript.

Chat Hours

Mon-Thurs

9:00am – 9:00pm

Fri

9:00am – 6:00pm

Sat

10:00am – 6:00pm

BYU Family History Library Hours

The BYU Family History Library is closed effective March 13th until further notice. Our webinars and other learning content will still be offered online.

The BYU Family History Library is now open every day, including Sundays (except for certain holidays and General Conference). From Monday to Saturday, we are open the same hours as the rest of the BYU Library. On Sundays, the BYU Library is open for family history only, from 12-8 p.m. The help desk services and family history missionaries are available during most of the hours the library is open. Our regular hours and exceptions are noted below.

Regular Hours

Monday-Thursday

Friday Saturday

Sundays

Family History Library*

7:00 am–midnight

7:00 am–midnight 8:00 am–midnight

12:00 pm–8:00 pm

Help Desk Services*

8:00 am–9:00 pm

8:00 am–6:00 pm 8:00 am–6:00 pm

Missionary Help

9:00 am–9:00 pm

9:00 am–6:00 pm 10:00 am–6:00 pm

12:00 pm–8:00 pm

*Exceptions to Monday-Saturday Open Hours and Help Desk Services
For exceptions to Monday-Saturday hours for the Library and Help Desk Services, see Exceptions to Regular Hours for the BYU Library. Exceptions may include closures, shorter hours, or extended hours. See below for additional exceptions to service in the BYU Family History Library.

†Sunday Closures (2020)
The BYU Family History Library is now open every Sunday except for the following Sunday closures:

  • Open with early closure Sunday, March 15th (Open 12:00-6:00 p.m.)
  • Closed Sunday, Apr 5 (General Conference)
  • Closed Sunday, Apr 12 (Easter)
  • Closed Sunday, May 10 (Mother’s Day)
  • Closed Sunday, May 24 (Memorial Day Weekend)
  • Closed Sunday, Jun 21 (Father’s Day)
  • Closed Sunday, Jul 5 (July 4th Weekend)
  • Closed Sunday, Sep 6 (Labor Day Weekend)
  • Closed Sunday, Oct 4 (General Conference)
  • Closed Sunday, Nov 29 (Thanksgiving Weekend)
  • Closed Sunday, Dec 20 (Christmas Break)
  • Closed Sunday, Dec 27 (Christmas/New Years Break)

Exceptions to Family History Missionary Help (2020)
Besides when the BYU Library is closed, Missionary help is not available during times when BYU Library services are limited to the Level 3 Help Desk only, per the BYU Library Schedule. There are also some additional exceptions, noted below.

There will be no missionary service on the following dates:
Library may open on some of these days with varying hours and service levels.

  • Sat, Apr 4 (General Conference – Library open)
  • Sun, Apr 5 (General Conference – Library closed)
  • Sun, Apr 12 (Easter – Library closed)
  • Thu, Apr 23–Sat, April 26 (Graduation and Semester Break – Library open)
  • Sun, May 10 (Mother’s Day – Library closed)
  • Sat, May 23 (Memorial Day Weekend – Library open)
  • Sun, May 24 (Memorial Day Weekend – Library closed)
  • Mon, May 25 (Memorial Day – Library open)
  • Sat, Jun 20 (New Student Orientation – Library open)
  • Sun, Jun 21 (Father’s Day – Library closed)
  • Fri, Jul 3 (July 4th Weekend – Library closed)
  • Sat, Jul 4 (July 4th Library closed)
  • Sun, Jul 5 (July 4th Weekend – Library closed)
  • Fri, Jul 24 (Pioneer Day – Library closed)
  • Sat, July 25 (Pioneer Day – Library closed, open Sun the 26th)
  • Sat, Aug 15 (Semester Break – Library open)
  • Sat, Aug 22 (Semester Break – Library open)
  • Sat, Aug 29 (New Student Orientation – Library open)
  • Sun, Sep 6 (Labor Day  – Library closed)
  • Mon, Sep 7 (Labor Day – Library open)
  • Sat, Oct 3 (General Conference – Library open)
  • Sun, Oct 4 (General Conference – Library closed)
  • Wed, Nov 25–Sun, Nov 28 (Thanksgiving Weekend – Library closed Thanksgiving, open the other days.)
  • Fri, Dec 18, 2020–Sat, Jan 2, 2021 (Christmas/Semester Break – Library closed Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day, open the other days.)

Important Links

BYU Library Catalog

BYU Library Catalog

Films

FamilySearch Microfilms & Fiche at BYU

Scanner Reservations

Scanner Reservations

FamilySearch

FamilySearch*

Ancestry.com

Ancestry.com
(BYU campus)

MyHeritage Libarary Edition

MyHeritage
Library Edition
(BYU campus)

Find My Past

Find My Past
(BYU Library)

   
Saints by Sea

Saints by Sea

The Family History Guide

The Family History Guide

County Histories

County Histories
(BYU access)

Fold3.com

Fold3
(BYU access)

WorldVitalRecords.com

Sanborn Maps
(BYU access)

HistoryGeo

HistoryGeo
(BYU access)

Gateway to North America

Gateway to North America
(BYU access)

"BYU access" means that the item is accessible on BYU campus or remotely for logged-in BYU students and faculty. If labeled “BYU campus” then it is available anywhere on BYU campus, but not remotely. "BYU Library" indicates that you may only access the resource while physically at the BYU Library. (If you have a personal account with any of these sites, you can access them anywhere. If so, it is best to access them directly rather than using these links.)

*FamilySearch is accessiable anywhere on the Internet, but many of the images (ca. 25-30%) require viewing at a FamilySearch family history center. BYU Library is also designated as a family history center allowing access to these images.